Uncategorized

“The mistake is thinking that there can be an antidote to the uncertainty.” ― David Levithan, The Lover’s Dictionary

So, adjusting to this new work-from-home, and stay-in-your-home-99%-of-the-time life has been interesting. And I’ve had a bunch of random thoughts and observations running through my head this last week or so. Why not share them right? If you’re interested, a peek into my brain this week:

I miss my chair at work.

And my desk at work.

And the people at work.

I love working in room where I can look out a window, even on a dreary day.

If I had to be stuck in a house with anyone/anything for an unspecified amount of time, my husband and the dog would be the first on my list. So we’re doing okay on that front.

I miss my friends. I still talk to them, but I want to see them. To drink wine and gossip and be silly with them. In person.

I love playing Animal Crossing, but….

Between working from home, and playing Animal Crossing, I’m looking at a screen way too much during the day. Like, more than usual too much.

I miss getting up from my desk and walking into a bustling workroom, making small talk with my co-workers.

I miss the random fires that would need to be put out.

I miss one-on-one, face-to-face meetings.

I miss people appearing at my office door, just to chat.

I love being able to take Cassie for longer walks each day. In the sunshine. No screens, no work – just my little family, in the fresh air.

Remember that at any given moment there are a thousand things you can love. - David Levithan

A week and a half in, I still haven’t figured out the perfect ratio of cream and sugar in my coffee. But it’s been nice making coffee at home every morning.

And will make Dunkin Donuts coffee taste even better when I have it again…

There are times I think, on some level, this isn’t all so bad. I’m stuck in a house with my favorite person and my dog. We’ve got plenty of food and are okay for now, but…

I find myself more emotional than usual. Tears springing to my eyes from out of nowhere, or frustrations getting the better of me much more quickly than usual. Case in point: This entire morning I’ve been on the verge of crying for no discernable reason. Hello, Wednesday?

My brother’s birthday is Friday. Before shelter in place, we were going to order from our favorite pizza place and celebrate (we would have been a gathering of less than 10 people!). Now, we’re planning to do a video gathering of some kind to celebrate. But it won’t be the same, and it makes me sad we can’t gather to celebrate and sing and likely annoy each other.

I miss my family.

And my friends.

But I like that there are still ways to connect. Like watching “P.S. I Still Love You” via Netflix party with one of my best friends. Or seeing daily facebook updates of what my other friend and her children are up to.

I like that we were able to have a virtual game night with Dan’s friends over the weekend. It’s still not the same as getting to hang out in person, but it’s nice to have a way to connect and reason to laugh.

Animal Crossing breaks are fun.

Image result for animal crossing

So are lunch breaks with the husband and the dog (when I don’t work through them). Even if Cassie is always trying to steal my food.

I’m grateful for distractions, but am learning that I need to limit the number of things that can distract me at any given time, and learn how to better manage my focus and anxiety levels.

My commute these days is fantastic. But it’s really cutting into my audio book consumption pretty severely (as in, I’m not listening to any).

I have no idea what’s coming next. Sometimes I’m okay with that. And sometimes it scares the shit out of me. Coming out of this, there’s no way things will be “normal,” even once we’re allowed to go to work again.

But, even with all of the uncertainty, I’m grateful for the sunshine today. To hear Cassie clicking around the house, eager for me to shut the computer off and go take her for a walk. To be here with Dan, who puts up with me even when I suddenly overreact to things and burst into tears at lunchtime (which I totally did not do today…).

Things will be okay. Because we will make them okay, and we will adjust and face whatever comes next head-on. Because that’s all we can do.

Image result for it will be okay quotes

Leave a comment