Uncategorized

Burn, Rewrite, Re-Read Book Tag

Okay, so I have NO idea how to do a fancy “book tag” graphic like I’ve seen on other blogs, BUT I saw this on another blog (Reads, Rhythms, and Ruminations), and loved it so I decided I would steal it:

Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf.).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  • Repeat until you completed five rounds.

 

Round 1

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Burn: Happy Accidents: A Memoir by Jane Lynch

I don’t remember hating this book, but I apparently only gave it 2 stars on Goodreads, so I was clearly underwhelmed. I do remember it not being quite as exciting or insightful into Lynch’s life as I hoped it would be, so I guess I’d have to ditch this one.

Rewrite: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

It’s funny that all three of these books were ones I read before I started writing reviews on Goodreads, so I honestly can’t remember what I specifically liked or didn’t like about any of them. I feel, though, like there were probably pieces of this one that I would have rewritten, to have the ending I thought was perfect and fitting. Plus, I think it would be fun to do some rewrites on a book that involves travels to Europe.

Reread: The Amateur Marriage by Anne Tyler

I would never have chosen a rewrite for this one, because I would never presume to be able to improve Anne Tyler. While I remember few details, I do remember really loving this story. I remember that it was a more intimate story, about characters and their relationships to one another more than a plot-driven story. This was also one of the first audiobooks I ever listened to, and the narration was so fantastic that it helped me fall in love with audiobooks as well, yet another reason to re-read.


Round 2

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Burn: True Believer by Nicholas Sparks

While I was quite enamored with Nicholas Sparks for a fair amount of time, those days are long over now. While there are certainly books of his I’d be willing to re-read, I’m going to say this is not one of them. Even after reading the description, nothing sounds familiar to me aside from a single character, Lexie. So, I’m going to say this wasn’t one of his best and can go in the burn pile.

Rewrite: The Girl Who Cried Monster by R.L. Stine

I don’t really remember this one in specifics either, probably largely owing to the fact that I first read it at least 20 years ago. I remember finding most of the Goosebumps books pretty solid, but could also find room for improvement in most of them. I think it would be fun to rewrite this one as an adult, and see where it goes.

Reread: Talking As Fast As I Can, by Lorelai Gilmore, Lauren Graham

Even though this is the one I’ve read most recently, I would absolutely read it again. It was fun, gave me some insight into Lauren Graham as a person AND cool insider info about Gilmore Girls. I would have liked a bit more about some of the other stuff she’s done since Gilmore (mostly Parenthood), but I would re-read this one again in a heartbeat.


Round 3

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Burn: The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers

I realize this may be unpopular because I feel like this is a classic, but….I just didn’t get it. I wanted to. I love the way Carson McCullers’s name flows off the tongue, and I wanted so badly to love her and this book (I love the title, too). Maybe I was too young when I read it, or in the wrong mood/place in my life, but I just didn’t get it. Burn.

Rewrite: Second Glance by Jodi Picoult

I had to look at the description of this one in order to remind myself about it, and while I don’t remember too many details, I do remember being really fascinated by this one. I found it to be different than many of Picoult’s other books that I’ve read, and I enjoyed the direction it went in. That being said there were certainly some things I would tweak and possibly cut out, so I went re-write with this one.

Reread: Charmed Thirds (Jessica Darling #3) by Megan McCafferty

I LOVE this series so much, or at least I did when I first read it. I’ve wanted to do a re-read for awhile, maybe this will inspire me to follow through one of these days 🙂


Round 4

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Burn: The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler

I’m sorry YA! To be fair, I enjoyed this one enough when I read it, it just didn’t wow me. Whereas the other two books that popped up here were both 5-star books for me. That left this one to the flames.

Rewrite: The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

I sort of feel like I’m cheating this round, because this is honestly the one I would probably MOST like to re-read, mostly to see if I am as wowed by it now as I was in college. Ayn Rand, I have since learned, is quite the acquired taste, and perhaps it was just the pretentious 19 year old that this spoke to. Regardless…It’s going in the rewrite category because as much as I loved it, it was freaking LONG. I’m sure it could be whittled down a bit for more streamlining.

Reread: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

I’ve read this one more than once already, but I did love this book. I would definitely not mind revisiting it again, especially the audiobook version.


Round 5

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Burn: Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish

Well, this is a damn impossible round for me because I really and truly love all three of these books, for VERY different reasons. Amelia Bedelia is getting chopped just because I love the other two more, I guess. But I loved how silly and clueless she was, and was endlessly entertained by her as a child (and, let’s face it, as an adult too).

Rewrite: Destiny of the Republic by Candice Millard

I loved this book far more than I ever expected it to. However, I don’t know that I’d be in a rush to re-read it. I could however, see myself doing some rewrites – the way the story alternates between different players could, perhaps have been made just a bit smoother?

Reread: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling

Perhaps this is cheating, as I’m firmly ensconced in my Harry Potter series re-read. But, I did love this the first time, and during the reread, and I’m sure I’d love it if I read it again.

 

Well, this was a fun little exercise! Even if, now that I’m done, I feel like I should have written something with a bit more depth. Maybe I’m the only one who thought this was fun? Anyway, it allowed me to revisit some books in a way I wouldn’t have otherwise, which was fun. Though now I also want to play F***, Marry, Kill with hot celebrities and blog about that….

I’m now off to watch my trashy reality TV! #BravoforLife

 

Leave a Reply

